State President’s Update


It’s been a busy year for the SA Nationals and our Federal Party. In February, after a tumultuous few months, the Federal Parliamentary team elected Michael McCormack as the new Leader of the Nationals and Deputy Prime Minister, he joined Bridget McKenzie who has ably been serving as the Deputy Leader since late last year.

South Australia was again well represented at the Federal Council of the National Party held in Canberra in August of this year with 6 delegates in attendance, 5 motions from South Australia were successfully moved over the weekend with all South Australian delegates participating in debate and speaking to motions. I would encourage members who are able to, to attend Federal Council in 2019, it is an invaluable experience and a great way of building networks both inside and outside the Party.

We had a unique experience at Federal Council with the Hon. Katrina Hodgkinson attending as one of our delegate members and successfully nominating for and assuming the Vice Presidency of the Party. She joins the Hon. Larry Anthony who, as our current Federal President, also assumed the Presidency as a member of the South Australian Nationals.

I would like to congratulate Mr Peter Blacker who, after years of service to the Nationals, will be the South Australian delegate on the Centenary Committee. Celebrating 100 years of the Nationals as a Federal Party, the committee will be chaired by Kay Hull (former Member for Riverina) and will be responsible for the organisation of the events and records around the 100th year conference in 2020.

Finally I hope that you all have a safe and blessed Christmas and New Year spent with family and friends.


Jonathan Pietzsch
State President